A 4th offense drunk driving charge in Massachusetts is a felony and a fourth offense conviction will result in a minimum mandatory sentence of 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in state prison. Fines range from a minimum mandatory of $1,500.00 up to $25,000.
Due to changes in the Massachusetts DUI laws because of Melanie’s Law, prior drunk driving or related convictions from anytime in your life, in any state, will count as prior DUI offenses. However, a good DUI lawyer may be able to challenge the authenticity and sufficiency of the evidence regarding prior convictions. The prosecution must prove the existence and validity of prior convictions beyond a reasonable doubt. This means that even if you are found guilty of drunk driving, a good Massachusetts DUI lawyer may be able to challenge the documentary evidence to avoid your being treated as 4th offender by the court.
The Registry will revoke your driver’s license for a period of ten (10) years for having been convicted of a Massachusetts DUI fourth offense. Anyone who refuses to submit to a breathalyzer or blood test, after being arrested for operating under the influence of alcohol, with 3 prior DUIs on his or her record, will have his or her driver’s license revoked for life. If you are facing a potential lifetime revocation of your driver’s license, please contact Attorney Brian E. Simoneau, at a recognized authority on DUI license suspension appeals.
In summary, a 4th offense drunk driving conviction in Massachusetts carries hefty fines, a minimum mandatory 2 years in jail, and long license revocations including a lifetime revocation for someone who refuses the breathalyzer with 3 prior DUIs on his or her record.The good news is that skilled and experienced drunk driving defense lawyers are available to help. Call today for a free consultation and Massachusetts OUI case review. Initial consultations are always free and without obligation.